iPad detox

It has to be done I reckon. I think I need to leave my iPad behind, to not take it on holiday for the next week. It’s going to be tough and that fact alone is enough for me to believe I need some iPad free time. An iPad detox week. I don’t write on the iPad, I use a laptop as I find the keyboard easier. I do, however, use the iPad every day for the many activities and entertainments it can provide. And for writing this blog and reading others.

It will be interesting to see what impact this break has on writing Invisus. I haven’t written anything for nearly a week and it will now be another week before I can sit down to it again. I am wondering how that might affect my progress. The plot will have a good chance to bubble away underneath and when I restart I intend to read back over from the beginning. Recently I have only read back the last couple of pages before continuing, apart from dipping in and out for the odd check for consistency.

Also I will be in a different environment and that could add a few ideas to the mix. Of course there is the fear that it will all disappear. That when I come back I will read my precious words and they will have lost their sparkle. And what if there aren’t any new ones waiting to surprise me?

Somehow I feel it will be alright. I need to believe it will be, and I need to enjoy leaving Invisus as well as the iPad to rest themselves as I rest myself.

I will, of course, have a pen and paper with me. And the iPhone…….for emergencies……..

Footnote: apologies for this being a rather short and scrappy post but I wanted to write something as an assurance to myself, and any readers out there, that the journey continues.

About Verity R

Have had several different career paths but alongside them I have always been writing as well. I think I always will.
This entry was posted in Book, Creative writing, creativity, experiences, fiction, life, novel, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to iPad detox

  1. Dave Ward says:

    Enjoy the holiday and may the muse be with you.

Leave a Reply

